Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

My roommates went to Lolla, so I had the apartment ALL to myself. The obvious thing to do is to bake things.

Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

Single bananas were on sale (19 cents/ pound!!) , so I picked up a couple and decided that some sort of banana bread was needed.

Again, I used Averie Cooks’ recipe, although I changed quite a few things:

  • Craisins instead of chocolate chips
  • ½ cup of granulated sugar
  • vegetable oil instead of coconut oil
  • ¼ brown sugar, not packed (probably around 1/8 cup packed)
  • cow’s milk (I don’t drink almond milk, so I didn’t have that on hand)
  • 1¼ cup of mashed bananas (MORE BANANAS!!!)
  • 1½ cup shredded zucchini (also more zucchini)
  • I also didn’t add salt, though the only reason I didn’t was because I was too lazy to find the salt…

Those were quite a few changes, so here’s my modified ingredients list:

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1/8 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 ¼ cup ripe mashed bananas
  • 1 ½ cups shredded zucchini, measured loosely laid in a cup
  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • pinch salt, optional and to taste
  • craisins

Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

 There are so many things about these muffins that I’m in love with. It’s one-bowl, doesn’t require a blender, and it doesn’t contain eggs! As a kid, my mom never let me eat any batter with raw eggs in them, so I’ve never really eaten batter with raw eggs in them. HOWEVER, these don’t have raw eggs, so I could eat ALL OF THE BATTER.

Don’t worry. I restrained myself from eating all of the batter, mostly because the recipe claimed that these would only make about 11 muffins, and to me 11 muffins is blasphemous. If you’re going to bake muffins, there’d better be at least a dozen. Luckily, I think the extra banana and zucchini gave the batter enough substance to push it to a dozen muffins.

These came out of the oven right when my roommates got back. Am I the best roommate yet? The entire apartment smelled delicious. Though it oddly smelled more like apple pie than banana bread. (Probably a result of the cinnamon)

Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

So after they cooled down enough for me to pick up without burning my fingers, I split one with my roommates. Mmmmmm… My first thought was “more banana!!” The muffins definitely had a banana texture, but you couldn’t really taste the banana. Also, I feel like I actually cut a little too much sugar. I think the additional zucchini and craisins rather than chocolate chips caused these muffins to need a bit more sugar. I’d probably add another 1/8 cup of sugar.

Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

Averie claimed that these muffins tasted better day old, so I did an extremely scientific experiment and had one the day of, one the day after, and one two days after. I have to agree that they taste better a few days later. They’re still moist, they’re denser, and for some reason, they tasted sweeter to me after sitting for a day.

Things I’d change next time:

  • More banana
  • More cinnamon (maybe even a bit of nutmeg?)
  • A tiny bit more sugar (1/8 cup-ish)

Banana Zucchini Cranberry Muffins

Leave a Reply

