Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

I went home a few weekends ago, since my dad’s company threw a party. My sisters and I were expected to contribute something to the barbeque, so I called dessert. Continuing with my recent pie bar addiction, I made apple pie bars.

I used Sally’s Baking Addiction’s recipe for Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars.

Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

Per usual, I reduced the amount of sugar I used, especially since these pie bars had caramel, so they’d already be pretty sweet. Additionally, I added the juice of about half a lime to the apple filling to give the filling a bit of tang, and preserve the color of the apples as I made the rest of the pie bars.

These bars smelled delicious when they came out of the oven, and I’m mildly disappointed that I had to make these the night before the BBQ. Also, since they had to look intact for the party, I also wasn’t able to taste test them. (I crossed my fingers so hard that they would taste okay.)

Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

When I finally got to taste them, I knew I had made a good decision. I admit that I had been a bit nervous that these pie bars would be too sweet, due to the salted caramel, but they were the perfect. The one thing I would change is a thicker layer of apple filling, since you can never have enough apples.

Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

These sweet and salty pie bars were fantastic for the BBQ pool party lunch, and they were an absolute hit with my dad’s co-workers!

One thought on “Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars

  1. Pingback: [Week 3] Salted Caramel Apple Pie Bars | Baking Et Ceteara

Leave a Reply

