Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread

Summer’s winding down and I’m now in the process of using up what’s left in my kitchen so the move out will be less of a hassle. This started out as a peanut butter banana bread, but I stumbled upon some cocoa powder in the kitchen, and the peanut butter chocolate banana bread was born.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread

I wasn’t super pleased with any of the recipes I found online, so I decided to have a go at creating my own. My roommate can attest to my continuous panic that I would miserably botch up this batch of banana bread.

Good news is they turned out alright. Okay, not gonna lie, they were pretty great. The apartment smelled wonderful, and although I’m super sad to be moving out of this apartment in a few weeks, I’m totally okay with this being the last thing I bake in this kitchen.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Cookies

A few things to note about this recipe. The bread turned out super crumbly. I’m not really sure why, since the bread was moist, unlike most crumbly breads that I’ve encountered. I would have also added some chocolate chips inside of the batter to get a more chocolaty taste, rather than just the chocolate color.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Cookies

I brought them to my late night lab meeting again. My lab had better love me for forever by now.

IMG_6817

Peanut Butter Chocolate Banana Bread

1/2 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup peanut butter
2/3 cup sugar
2 ripe bananas, mashed
2 eggs
6 tablespoons milk
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt, optional
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tbs cocoa powder
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup oat flour
1 tsp baking powder 1

Instructions

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray loaf pan (about 9×5.5”) with cooking spray 2
  2. Mix oil, peanut butter, and sugar in a large bowl until smooth.
  3. Add the bananas, eggs, milk, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and cocoa powder. Blend until liquid forms.
  4. Add flour and baking powder. Stir just until combined.
  5. Place batter in the prepared pan. Bake for 45-55 minutes, until the top has browned and a toothpick comes out of the center clean, but may have a few crumbs stuck to it. Cool completely before removing from the pan.

Notes

  1. I added baking powder because I used a cup of oat flour. Cut out the baking powder if you use 2 cups of all-purpose flour.
  2. I used an 8×8 because my friend “stole” my roommate’s loaf pan! (much anger :P)
Leave a Reply

