Zucchini Brownies

So I know I said a few posts ago that I was done baking in my apartment, but evidently that just doesn’t happen. I made these brownies at midnight the night before I moved out.

Zucchini Brownies

(Everyone knows midnight baking is the best kind of baking. Especially when it involves chocolate.)

As I mentioned before, I had a massive zucchini that I’ve been trying to use up. After perusing Pinterest, I found this recipe. I admit that I’m a bit skeptical of vegan recipes, but I just had SO MUCH zucchini I decided to give this one a whirl.

Zucchini Brownies

I was definitely concerned that the batter be too dry, since the ½ cup of oil was the only liquid. However, after letting the batter sit for a few minutes the zucchini released enough water to create a deliciously fudgy brownie batter.

The brownies were satisfyingly chocolaty. They were a tad bit crumbly around the edges, but I think that was mostly due to me not mixing the batter well enough. (Tip for next time: let the zucchini sit in the batter for 5-10 minutes, then mix and pour into the pan)

Zucchini Brownies

Btws, still didn’t use up that zucchini… ended up taking a large chunk of it home with me.

Zucchini Brownies
Adapted from The Baker Chick
Makes 1 9×13 pan

  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cups white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 3 cups finely shredded zucchini

Instructions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350F. Lightly spray a 9×13 baking pan.
  2. In a large bowl, whisk together the oil, sugar and vanilla until smooth and well-combined.
  3. Sprinkle the flour, cocoa powder, soda and salt over the wet ingredients and stir until just incorporated.
  4. Pour the zucchini into the batter. Let sit for 5-10 minutes.
  5. Fold in the zucchini and mix until batter is well combined.
  6. Spread into the prepared pan and bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the middle of the pan comes out with a few moist crumbs.
Leave a Reply

